In last post Ino left the following comment:

“The yolk does sink if the egg is raw, if you shake it enough to break the membranes. Using that idea, you can balance a raw egg on its bottom, which looks quite cool, but requires a really flat, still table to do it on.”

I tried to do this, but I wasn’t skilled enough to achieve it. However, it got me thinking if it was really perhaps the membrane somehow pushing the egg yolks up, so I did the following experiment. I put a single egg yolk in a glass and then poured over it 3 egg whites. This was the result:

Egg yolk floating in egg whites.

Egg yolk floating in egg whites.

As you can see the egg yolk seems to always float, membranes or no membranes. I think that the obstacle for keeping an egg vertically still on a table (other than the curved surface) is then the air bubble it has at the bottom:

Air bubble in a row egg.

Air bubble in a row egg.

For a better picture of the anatomy of an egg click here. I tried shaking an egg until I could hear the yolk was loose but I still wasn’t able to keep the egg vertically still. When I cracked it open the air bubble was indeed broken, but I can’t be sure that that happened during the shaking . If you manage to balance an egg on its bottom it’d be great if you could take a picture of it and send it to us.

