Last week I did one more experiment with the naked eggs, but before I tell you the results I am curious to know what your intuition is about the answer.

Sometimes when you open an egg after boiling it you find that the egg yolk is not centered but has moved to the side, which is inconvenient if you are trying to cook filled eggs. This problem can be avoided by rolling the eggs gently during the first few minutes while you boil them.

Why do you think this happens? Is it because the egg yolk sinks to the bottom of the egg and stays there if you don’t move it around? Or is it because it floats? You have 2 days to vote in my very first blog poll.

Please don’t Google the answer, just reply whatever your intuition tells you (I can tell you that mine was wrong). Otherwise it takes away all the fun.